(160) casino reviews


(419) free casino games  › Blog  › The Main Event IPT San Remo 2010
October 25, 2014

What to expect from the main event Italian Poker Tour San Remo 2010


The Italian Poker Tour Logo

Taking its cue from other successful poker tour being offered throughout the world, PokerStars introduced the Italian Poker Tour (IPT) in 2009. After a highly successful first season that saw nine different winners from four different counters over nine events, season 2 of the (IPT) brought with it great expectations for higher prize pools and a larger body of players from all over the world.

After the results were in, it became clear that IPT events would remain on the international poker schedule for years to come. Again, there were nine different winners from three different countries over the same nine events. The first event of 2010 was held in San Marino at the Centro Congressi San Marino venue. A robust field of 380 players entered and the top prize was taken down by the home grown poker professional Luigi Pignataro, who took home a top prize of €190,000.

On July 29, the tour moved to Casino Di Venezia in Venice, Italy where 505 players entered for a top prize of €235,000, which was claimed by international poker professional Tamas Lendvai out of Hungary. The next stop on tour was in San Remo at the Casino Sanremo, where Sergio Castelluccio played loose and took down the €200,000 first prize.

In late September, the tour move out of Italy, where the Perla Casino & Hotel, Nova Gorica, Slovenia played host to its first event of the year. When Luca Topazio from Italy scored the first place prize of €190,000, he became the thirteenth player to win an IPT event in thirteen tournaments. The following stop was back to San Remo where Alessandro Minasi won €172,000 on his way to becoming the fourteenth different winner.

When Alessandro Minasi from Poland claimed the top prize €172,000 in Malta, he became the second non-Italian player to win an IPT event in the tour's second season. After Italian poker pro Marcello Caponnetto took down first place in the tour's third San Remo event, players moved on to a new host venue at the Casino Campione d'Italia in Campione d'Italia, Italy where yet another Italian player, Eros Nastasi, won the tour's second highest prize of €215,504.

The final two events were won by Giacomo Loccarini (€122,000) in Malta and Mustapha Kanit (€200,000) back at the Perla Casino & Hotel. Based on the overall success of the tour in 2010, it was wildly anticipated that the third season would see yet another increase in purses and entrant from all over the world.


By loading and joining the Disqus comments service below, you agree to their privacy policy.